New York adds 3 states to quarantine list Coronavirus

NEW YORK (WABC) -- New York has added three additional states to its quarantine list, from which travelers will be required to isolate for 14 days, bringing the total to 19.

Governor Andrew Cuomo said Tuesday that Delaware, Kansas and Oklahoma now meet the metrics to qualify for the travel advisory.

The quarantine applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

"As states around the country experience increasing community spread, New York is taking action to ensure the continued safety of our phased reopening," Cuomo said. "Our entire response to this pandemic has been by the numbers, and we've set metrics for community spread just as we set metrics for everything."

The previous list of 16 states was also in effect for travel to New Jersey and Connecticut, but it is unclear if they are also adding the three new states.

The states on the list are:
--North Carolina
--South Carolina


The quarantine rules apply to anyone who travels by train, bus, car, plane and any other method of transportation, officials said. The self-quarantine is voluntary, but compliance is expected.

According to officials, the advisory does not apply to any individual passing through designated states for a limited duration through the course of travel. Examples include: stopping at rest stops for vehicles, buses, and/or trains; or layovers for air travel, bus travel, or train travel.

Individuals who are traveling to New York, New Jersey or Connecticut from impacted states for business are exempt.

The travel quarantine announced on June 24 by Gov. Andrew Cuomo applies to everyone entering the Tri-State region, including New Yorkers returning home from elsewhere.

Washington was also on the list initially, but the state was removed after New York officials reviewed the state's data, saying, "There was a temporary discrepancy with Washington State's reporting, however, they have since corrected it and we have removed them from the list of states under travel advisory."

New York adds 3 states to quarantine list Coronavirus New York adds 3 states to quarantine list Coronavirus Reviewed by Anson Moore on July 07, 2020 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.